The hamlet of Fusine is located about 6 km from Tarvisio along the SS 54 leading to Rateče and Kranjska Gora and on the slopes of Monte Forno, a symbol of the triple border between Italy, Slovenia and Austria. The town, besides being known for the extreme beauty of its natural heritage, is an area rich in history and traditions, strongly linked to mining.
It was obtained as early as 1404, in fact, the first concession for the erection of a forge with a water hammer, which allowed in time to discover the great wealth of the subsoil and, above all, the massive presence of iron ore. The exploitation of iron soon became a major industry for the entire valley and resulted in significant job creation.
It was not until the nineteenth century, however, that the first steel foundry to be combined with forges for the manufacture of files and then chains, which soon became a typical production of the area and allowed the Weissenfels steelworks to attain a pre-eminent place in the world elite of steel chain production for the most diverse uses.
Of Fusine's ancient origins, however, there is little evidence: among the historic buildings, the Church of St. Leonard dating back to 1463 stands out, in addition to some ruins of the Weissenfels Castle and the 14th-century "castelletto" located in the center of the village.
The beauty of the landscape and the integrity of the mountain environment led the Friuli-Venezia Giulia Region to establish the first regional nature park in this area in 1971. The environment of the park and the places surrounding the Fusine lakes is rich in naturalistic and landscape significance.